Rachel Corrie is the kind of girl every parent should be proud of; definitely I would be as her parents were. Proud as much as sad when she was murdered at the young age of 24.

Since the tender age of 5 Rachel was a person who could not stick much of the wrong doings of humankind – war, greed, injustice, famine and environmental destruction. And at the age of 5 she made her first public speech regarding these issues. I can imagine how proud her parents were seeing their daughter talking about the value of other human beings’ life and dignity, the same values she inherited from them.

Still proud, but also worried, Rachel’s parents saw her grow up and at the age of 24 going to Gaza in 2003 with only one mission – to show her disapproval against the injustice the people of Palestine were going through. She went with non-profit NGO International Solidarity Movement (ISM) and wrote home regularly talking about her anger and sadness witnessing these people, especially the children being harassed, humiliated arrested and murdered. She wanted to do something, an irresistible urge against helplessness in such a situation.

One practice the Israeli regime was doing was destroying homes with bulldozers with the excuse that there might be terrorists inside, leaving a lot of people including many children homeless, if not also hurt and murdered.

One day Rachel had had enough.

She placed herself and camped in between large Israeli bulldozers and premises where Palestinians lived. She believed that though her life was as equal as any Palestinian human being, being American would deter the bulldozers harming her. Unfortunately she was wrong. After some debate the bulldozers continued their job, crushing poor Rachel cold bloodedly, as no one had expected.

I bet that despite the sadness, after the initial shock, Rachel’s parents couldn’t help continuing to feel proud of their daughter.

Maybe one reason for writing this is also a personal thing. While people like Rachel give me hope that there is much humanity and goodness in humankind, I also feel guilty and helpless. I wish I was like Rachel, but I confess that compared to her I’m a coward.

The second reason is quite different. I want anyone reading this to know this story. I want to give my minuscule tribute so that Rachel’s blood wouldn’t have been split in vain. I want to show my appreciation to all the Rachel Corries we have never come to hear about, and I’m sure there are quite a substantial number of these.

